Iaido and Karate – Two Sides of the Same Coin

It never ceases to amaze me when I am told that one Martial Art is totally different to another. With some minor variations, human bodies are very similar. There is really only one way to move effectively and safely. So whatever Martial Art someone chooses to practice it should share the same fundamental characteristics with any other, good style or Art.

I have had no problem in interchanging ideas, applications and training principles between any of the Arts that I study – Karate, Taiki, Tai Chi Chuan, Iaido and Jodo.

I started practising one of these Arts – Iaido (the art of the Japanese sword) about fifteen years ago. I was looking for something to enhance my Karate training and to give me a different perspective on the art of the empty hand.

Continue reading here: http://www.shikon.com/2011/11/iaido-and-karate-two-sides-of-the-same-coin/

One response to “Iaido and Karate – Two Sides of the Same Coin

Leave a Reply

